Phantom Rose SL has milestone birthday!

July marks the SEVENTH year for Phantom Rose in Second Life.

As many of you know, Second Life is not a game.  It is, as I like to call it, a creative environment.  You can build and make anything you want; anything of your imagination.  I am happy and proud to say that Phantom Rose is my vision, my creation, my dream.

And along with the sim, the Phantom Rose Opera House keeps on going.  Over the years we have had the glory years (2007-2009) and the not so active years.  This past year a new spark lit up the Opera House… Tenshi Domenici!  Tenshi came to me with a request.  He, like many others, loved the Phantom of the Opera and he wanted to do a production based on the story.  To be honest, I was skeptical.  Over the years I’ve had many such requests, which mostly ended up with people drifting away when the actual work needed to be done.  But always the optimist, I welcomed his collaboration and offered my support and guidance.   Much to my delighted surprise, not only did Tenshi start working, he stayed and worked some more!  Until this time when we actually have a production under way for this coming October.  Due to his continued dedication to the Opera House and Phantom Rose, I offered him the position of Opera House Director and he accepted.

He is following in the footsteps of two other great Directors, Bart and Isobel.  Bart was the first director and he brought the Opera House to a place I did not even realize it could go.  Although I had built it, I had no real plan for what to do with it, besides making it a place where new artists could get a start.  Bart was a huge Opera fan and he taught me to appreciate that genre of music and I admired his passion and dedication tremendously.  Bart cared so much about the Opera House and he brought a real sense of authenticity to it.  Isobel was a good friend for many years and she stepped in to help me when I felt exhausted and bereft of ideas and inspiration.  A music teacher with a bunch of knowledge and talent, she was a major force in getting our production of the Opera Romeo and Juliet on stage.  It was ambitious, it was wonderful and it was woefully under attended.  It was a shame since we put so much of ourselves in to the production.  But I don’t regret a moment of that work.

Seven years… seven years and Phantom Rose and the Opera House are still standing.  I want to thank  the hundreds of people that have visited Phantom Rose and the Opera House.  So many people have left me IMs of thanks for giving them such a wonderful place to go and a few donations.  I thank you all.

We have a few more events this month to celebrate this amazing milestone and I hope you will check the calendar and join us.

Warmest Regards,  Lannorra

Leave a Reply

