Phantom Rose (Second Life) Turns SIX YEARS OLD!!

Wow, six years have gone by so quickly.  When I first created Phantom Rose in 2007, I had a mainland sim that I called Dragon’s Heart Province.  It was a pretty medieval sim with castles around a huge Cove right on the sim edge.  But like many creators, I was frustrated with the limitations of owning a mainland sim and wanted more control.  So I came up with a new concept.  A “Gothic Romance” theme, as I described it.  My inspiration was taken from the glorious stage play, Phantom of the Opera and from the many vampire books I read, chief among them, tales from Anne Rice.  So I built my vision of a beautiful, peaceful land, with a slight dangerous edge.  The Opera House was the physical and metaphorical center of Phantom Rose.  It housed the Phantom’s Lair, my homage to Phantom of the Opera and over the years has been the starting place for many performers in Second Life.  In my first several years, I was blessed with the help of Bartolomeo Weatherwax, a knowledgeable fan of Opera to run the Opera House.  Bart did many wonderful shows and was a huge reason that the Opera House flourished.  I have been so blessed over the years with wonderful friends and SL family.  As the economy of  Second Life has gotten challenging, I consider it a major feat that Phantom Rose still exists and still offers performers around the globe a free place to get started.

I have planned quite a number of events for July, in celebration of this major Milestone in Phantom Rose’s history.  Just Dance! will be presenting a beautiful Ballet this month.  It will be offered twice in different times to hopefully give many people a chance to see it.  It will be performed at the Opera House Sky Stage and there will be limited seating.  I’ve also planned several lightshows, which in the past have been so popular.   Please check the calendar from the website for more information and show times.

I hope to see many of my friends and supporters this month.  Please stop by even to just say hello.

Warmest Regards, Lannorra Sion

Leave a Reply

